The Curriculum

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born.

The care and education offered by Saplings Nursery and Pre-School helps children to continue to do this by providing them with interesting activities that are right for their age and stage of development.

For children between the ages of six months and five years, the Nursery and Pre-School provides a curriculum for the foundation stage of education. This curriculum is set out by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority and the Department for Education and Skills in the “Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage”.

This guidance divides children’s learning and development into seven areas:

- Personal, social and emotional development

- Physical development

- Communication and language

- Literacy

- Mathematics

- Understanding the world

- Expressive art and design

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential.

For each early learning goal, the guidance sets out stepping stones, which describe the stages through which children are likely to pass as they move to achievement of the goal.

We use the Revised Early Years Foundation Stage framework to help us to trace each child’s progress and provide the right activities to help all of the children move towards achievement of the early learning goals.

Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.

About SaplingsThe CurriculumPricingInfo for ParentsNewsContact